(10)The Battle for WondLa // Bookish Blurb

512gl-e2bhdl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

The Battle for Wondla by Tony DiTerlizzi

So this was book 3 in the WondLa trilogy (see here for my review of book one). I was a little confused at first because I hadn’t read book two and a lot of important things happened in book two but I ultimately still enjoyed this book (although not as much as I think I would have if I had actually understood everything that was going on).

In this book Eva Nine has to try and stop a war between the aliens and the humans. It was very much an adventure story with lots of battles. I thought there might be an inkling of a romance but we stayed away from there.

Probably the most interesting thing about this book (at leas to me) was the ending. The story ends and then we have en epilogue and then we have a few more chapters where it skips forwards hundreds of years so you can see what happens to the planet and the society and how people remember (or don’t) the things that occurred in the majority of the book. In this book Eva is no longer afraid of stuff and is just really cool and in charge which was nice but (at least for me) slightly less relate-able. Also I really like how he brought back a bunch of characters from the first book (and the second obviously) but having just read the first book it was nice to see that.

The biggest thing that bothered me in this book was the way the bad guy got defeated. It just seemed kinda impossible and way too convenient but I’ll let it go.

Also the illustrations deserve another mention because they are gorgeous and really helped me figure out what some of these aliens were supposed to look like.

Overall I definitely enjoyed this book. It was a quick easy read and I think if I had read the second book I would have really liked it. As it was, it was just some light reading for me to pass the time. Ultimately this book is about sharing the earth and learning to live in harmony and ‘what is truth?’ and that people are complex and not everyone (even of the same species) is going to act the same way.

The Battle for WondLa on Amazon

#10 of 2017

One thought on “(10)The Battle for WondLa // Bookish Blurb

Leave a comment