2021.113 A Spell for Chameleon

A Spell for Chameleon (Xanth, Book 1): Piers Anthony: 9780345347534:  Amazon.com: Books

A Spell for Chameleon by Piers Anthony

I’m not sure where I found this book but this was a… bizarre fantasy novel. We’re set in a magical world which is surrounded by a shield which protects it from the non-magical world. And we follow our main character Bink (who I kept thinking was Blink) who must prove he has magic or else be cast out of his magical home.

I really don’t know how to explain this book. Weird things happen, and it’s all a bit ridiculous but since all of this is normal to Bink, it is presented as if it’s totally normal which was kind of fun.

I will say, you can tell this book is older. I didn’t love the way women were presented/talked about in this book. It was definitely written by a man. But it was funny and quirky and ultimately a fun quick read.

#113 of 2021

One thought on “2021.113 A Spell for Chameleon

Leave a comment