2021.112 A Natural History of Dragons

A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent (The Lady Trent  Memoirs, 1): Brennan, Marie: 9780765375070: Amazon.com: Books

A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan

I read this book a few years ago and I loved it so much I decided I would go ahead and reread it. I never reread books so this was kind of a big deal.

This is set in an alternate historical England in which we follow our main character as she narrates her life as a girl obsessed with dragons in a world where women are supposed to be proper and not do anything related to science.

I just love this book (and presumably this series). It is exactly the book I tried to write when I was younger. I love the way dragons are introduced… scientifically. Also I appreciated how naïve our main character is in this book. It helped explain the world to us without being annoying. But since her older self is telling the story we also know that she grows and learns which I really appreciated.

I don’t think I’ve sold this book very well but I just love it. It was a hug and a comfort.

#112 of 2021

2 thoughts on “2021.112 A Natural History of Dragons

Leave a comment