2021.44 Spin the Dawn

Amazon.com: Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars) (9780525646990): Lim,  Elizabeth: Books

Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

This is a ya fantasy novel in which we follow the main character who pretends to be a boy in order to save her family. Heard that before? But this time she does it in order to become a master tailor for the emperor. The first half of the book is all about a competition she participates in to become a master tailor and then the second half is a journey she has to go on afterwards.

I’m not sure how I feel about this book. Overall I enjoyed it. Enough to read the sequel (reading it now). Did it do anything particularly new…. but is that important? It’s teen, it’s not deep or anything and sometimes the characters are annoying etc. but it was fun and I enjoyed it.

Also I should mention that this is a romance novel. That was an ok part of the book. Probably my least favorite part was the journey because I just don’t necessarily enjoy journey books.

Anyway, that’s all. I don’t think there’s anything negative about this book so I guess I would recommend it.

#44 of 2021

Leave a comment