(36) The Warrior Heir // Bookish Blurb

The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima

This is a YA fantasy story set in real life. The premise of the story is that Jack thinks he is a normal boy and then learns that there is a magical community all around him that wants to use him and/or kill him.

Although I did end up enjoying this story, I found it very hard to get into it. I just didn’t care about the characters or the situation but I’m glad I persisted.

I think probably my favorite part of this book was the whole magical world that the author created. It is very unique and almost caste-like with the wizards as the most important and the warriors basically considered slaves and all the nonmagical people worthless.

I’m not sure how I liked the way the author tried to balance ‘real’ life and the magical world. Basically her method seemed to be just enchant people to think something else happened which seemed a bit cheap and also what about all the big problems in the world? Were magicians involved in those?

I appreciated how the author tried to help Jack continue to have friends even while his abilities blossom and he becomes more and more of a threat to the people he cares about. I wish she had worked a bit more on his family situation. His parents are conveniently divorced so his dad isn’t in the picture but for some reason his mom can’t know about everything that is going on. That was really confusing to me. I know he was trying to protect his mom but if his friends can know then why can’t his mom?

Also the thing that was supposed to be such a surprise did not surprise me. I felt like it was kind of obvious. The ending also confused me a little bit (I want to say more but I’m not sure how to without too many spoilers). Basically it seemed a bit too convenient.

I know I’ve said lots of bad things about it but overall I did enjoy this book. I thought it was the first in a series which it isn’t (which I am glad of) although it does have a companion book. Actually it might be part of a series now that I look at it again… Maybe if I was a younger boy I would have really enjoyed this book. It has a lot of fighting and politics and running around trying to stay alive.

Overall a decent book. Didn’t love it but it was ok. I don’t regret reading it. I did appreciate the different perspective on magical manifestations and how different types of magical people might interact.

The Warrior Heir on Amazon

#36 of 2017

Leave a Reply

