(34) Fablehaven // Bookish Blurb

Fablehaven by Brandon Mull

This is a middle grade fantasy adventure book about siblings Kendra and Seth who spend two weeks at their grandparents house which they learn is a sanctuary for mythical creatures.

Although I enjoyed this book I ultimately found it slightly disappointing. I think that’s probably because I am not the intended audience for this book. I didn’t feel very connected to the characters. Kendra is the rule follower who has to break the rules to save everyone (I guess that’s a spoiler) and Seth is the rule breaker who causes all the problems in the book (seriously!). To be fair he also works towards their solutions but  again and again he is told to follow the rules and he’s just like ‘nope, even though terrible things happened last time, nope’. Also there’s a lot of sibling bickering which I guess is supposed to make it more realistic but I just found it tiring. I think I was waiting for some humor or something to break up the angst but it never came.

The plot of the story is basically solid (I mean, as solid as mythical creatures in real life can be) although there were a lot of unanswered questions (which I suppose makes sense since this is the first book in the series).

I know it sounds like I didn’t like this book but I did, it was a fun and easy read and although I don’t think I’ll be reading more in the series, I don’t regret reading it. If you are a middle-schooler who likes adventure books I would definitely recommend this to you but I think it was lacking something for older audiences.

Fablehaven by Brandon Mull

#34 of 2017

Also can I just note that I had no idea the person on the cover was supposed to be a woman. I don’t think it was until after I finished the book that the cover finally made sense to me.

Leave a Reply

