(6)One Plus One // Bookish Blurb

one-plus-one-jojo-moyesOne Plus One by Jojo Moyes

After I saw Me Before You, I was going to go read the book (I didn’t realize it was a book before it was a movie and yes it made me cry) but when I went to get the book I realized that the author (Jojo Moyes) had written a bunch of other books. Unsure what to do I decided to just get her first book even though I didn’t know anything about it.

So, basically this book is a love story about a poor woman and a rich man but I think at its core this book is about family. I really appreciated how the book discusses family and complex families can be and that they can be as good or bad as you make them. I also really liked how fleshed out the main characters were. All the relationships were obviously well thought out so as to be complex and realistic. I was surprised by how much I ended up rooting for them to do well. Especially the little girl. I mean, who doesn’t love a little girl who is a math genius?

Also the plot was deceptively simple yet ultimately was kind of complex. Even though the ending was kind of too perfect, the plot was really well done so that you don’t get there the most obvious way. There are literally so many obstacles but eventually they all have a happy ending.

Ok, so now onto the not so great part about this book. Well, um, ultimately there was just way too much ‘adult content’ for me. This would definitely make an R rated movie. I’ll just leave it at that. Also I kind of didn’t like how it was a rich guy ‘saving’ them even though in the end they all end up roughly the same.

Ultimately not a terrible book if it weren’t for all the stuff I did not need to read about. The characters, plot, ending were all great. Just don’t tell mom I read this 😉

One Plus One on Amazon

#6 of 2017

Leave a Reply

