Kelingrove Art Gallery and Museum- Glasgow pt.1 // Scotland

cimg3189cimg3190The next place I went in Glasgow was to the Kelingrove Art Gallery and Museum. This is a really big museum in Glasgow and like so much in Scotland, it was free so I decided to give it a shot even though I walked like all the way across town to get to it (and it was cold). Also the exhibit I was excited to see was closed. Anyway, my impression of this place was that I was a bit disappointed but looking back at it I still got some ok pictures. It was the end of my trip and I was tired of walking and everything but I’m still glad I went. If nothing else the building was really pretty (oh how I miss the old buildings!).

Also if you noticed that the watermark has changed that’s because the website I use decided to change and I couldn’t figure out how to get what I was doing before so this is just going to have to work (I actually like it better). Anyway, on to more art.

Here are some of the paintings I saw. Top left is my favorite I think. “Still Life” by David Horn in the 1850s. All the things in it are supposed to remind you of vanity and or death. The painting at the bottom right is  “Poor Fauvette” (1881) by Jules Bastien-Lepage. I think it must be a famous painting or something. I recognize it from somewhere. Also the lady dancing is a Russian ballerina, Anna Pavlova I think.

Now for some art with more story behind it.

cimg3226No art gallery would be complete without a crucifixion picture now would it. And this one is apparently extra special. It’s called “Christ of St. John of the Cross” and it is by Salvador Dali. It’s actually kind of famous apprently and is Kelingrove Gallery’s prize painting (which makes me question if i was allowed to take pictures of it…). Anyway, there is lots of stuff about it on the internet if you are interested in its history. I remember not being super impressed with it but there were also lots of people looking at it so I didn’t spend much time with it.

These paintings also have a cool story. I wish I had been able to take better pictures of them. This was a set of three paintings made by an Italian prisoner of war in what is now Somalia. When the camp was disbanded, Somali soldiers destroyed the chapel where they hung and some of the paintings (hence why they are missing parts) but the Italian soldiers rescued the images and gave them to the British officer in charge of the camp. Years later the British officer tried to return them to the Italians and was told that he should keep them as a sign of their gratitude for their humane treatment in the war camp. I might be butchering the story slightly but I thought it was really interesting.

I need to stop now so I guess I will show you the rest of the museum next time. We’re almost done with my day trip to Glasgow.

Leave a Reply

