(4)Big Magic // Bookish Blurb

bigmagicfinalBig Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

This book was recommended to me by a friend (hi friend!) so I got it from the library and read it. Going into it, I had no idea what it was about but ultimately it is about creativity and what she calls “creative living”.

The book is divided into six different parts: Courage, Enchantment, Permission, Persistence, Trust, and Divinity. I’m not entirely sure what else to say without giving away the book.

What I got out of this book is that we should do what brings us joy and that creativity does not need to be painful. Instead, it should be joyful and that we need to let go of our need for things to be perfect and instead just do stuff.

I really enjoyed all the anecdotes and stories throughout this book which I think are what made it actually interesting.

She talks about being a trickster and ultimately being joyful in our endeavors. The difference between being a genius and having a genius. A lot of what she says is kind of ‘spiritual’ for lack of a better word. It isn’t what you might call ‘hard science’ it’s just what she think makes sense that has improved her way of thinking even if it may not be totally ‘true’. She has this theory that there are ideas out there and they will come to us if we are willing to let them in and that they are our friends (not our babies or our enemies).

Although I didn’t find this book as helpful as I think some people have, I do think it is a fresh approach to creativity which was interesting and made me think more about what I do (and do not) create.

“What I’m saying is this: If you’re going to live your life based on delusions (and you are, because we all do), then why not at least select a delusion that is helpful?

Let me suggest one:The work wants to be made, and it wants to be made through you.” (pg221).

Big Magic on Amazon

#4 of 2017

 

Leave a Reply

