(3)A Dog’s Purpose// Bookish Blurb

a-dog

A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron

My boyfriend was reading this book and I thought it looked interesting so when he finished it he let me read it. Basically, this book is about a dog who keeps getting reborn into new lives which all build on each other and ultimately help him figure out his purpose in life.

Overall it was a really well written enjoyable book. It’s been a while since I read a book from the perspective of a dog and this book did a really good job of it although it did seem a tad bit too convenient that we were able to understand the English that the people around the dog were speaking but I guess a book written only from what a dog understands wouldn’t be much of a book. Also the dog was able to differentiate between different emotions very keenly which was interesting and kind of insightful. It was a fast and easy read while also being funny and engaging. Over the course of the book the dog lives four different lives each time waking as a puppy.

My biggest issue with the book was actually its ending. I know a lot of people really liked the ending and found it very moving and touching and such but I just found it too predictable. Also it left some key questions unanswered which I never appreciate (the author ended up writing a sequel because everyone was like….’but what happens?!’).

I really appreciated this book and how it was able to deal with rather heavy topics (death, disappointment, abuse, etc.) without feeling dark and heavy. Also since it’s from a dog’s perspective you don’t have to worry about many of the things I often have to deal with in popular fiction.

Overall, an easy happy read that I’m glad I had the opportunity to read. It was well written and left me feeling uplifted and wanting dog more than ever.

Also they are making this into a movie which looks interesting. I’m intrigued how they’ll do it from the dog’s perspective.

A dog’s Purpose on Amazon

#3 of 2017

Leave a Reply

