(1)The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared // Bookish Blurb

 

100-year-old-man

The 100-year-old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson

This book was recommended to me by my friend (Hi friend!) who read my review of A Man Called Ove and said it reminded her of this book. Although both books are about an old man and are written by Swedish authors that’s about as similar as they get.

The premise of this story is that Allan Karlsson climbs out the window of his nursing home room on his 100th birthday. He then (accidentally) becomes involved in some very big events which we experience with him. However, between the story of what happens to him after he climbs out the window we also get the complex story of his entire life.

Although I enjoyed learning about his entire life, I much preferred his more recent adventures. His past is closely wrapped around historical characters and I was reminded of how little I know about recent history (specifically communist/ Cold War history). I appreciated Allan’s wit and bluntness and his complete dislike of politics (something that I personally resonate with) but his entire life was just so bizarre.

Overall this was a very enjoyable book. It was interesting and well written and a bit odd and quirky. It was a bit too historical/political for me but maybe if I knew more about the history he was involved with I would have enjoyed it more. Also Allan is an explosives expert so he has a tendency to blow things up which is kind of amusing. Also some of the other characters are quite interesting and I appreciated Allan’s general acceptance of anyone who was reasonable and would refrain from talking politics. I especially appreciated that there was an elephant. She somehow made everything more ridiculous and wonderful at the same time.

Anyway, go grab a copy and go on a ridiculous little trip through history through the eyes of an old man who couldn’t care less about communism or politics or who knows how to build an atom bomb.

The 100-year-old man…

#1 of 2017

 

1 thought on “(1)The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared // Bookish Blurb”

Leave a Reply

