Nightingale // Bookish Blurb

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

I started reading this book because I knew someone else who bought it because apparently it was good. I didn’t really know much about it but it intrigued me and ended up blowing me away.

This is the story of two sisters during Nazi occupied France. I don’t want to give away too much of this story but it is just so good. The sisters lead very different lives (although they do intersect) as they both try to do what they think is best. Although this book was written very well I found myself needing to take breaks every so often and distance myself from the terrible things that were happening to the characters. There are definitely moments of happiness but for the most part this book is heart wrenching. I found both sisters (and their relationship) very relate able and interesting. I have yet to find any WWII story that ends happily, but I was very content with the way this one ended. No, it wasn’t happy, but it was conclusive and realistic (I think). It was also really interesting learning aboout other aspects of war and survival which I didn’t know about. All in all, definitely a solid read. It made me laugh and cry and gripped me and wouldn’t let me go. I would recommend this to anyone 18 and up due to war terror. But seriously, good book, go find a copy as long as you don’t mind dreaming about people coming to find you and kill you.

Nightingale on Amazon

Leave a Reply

